You are here

Volunteer Abroad Reviews


Stephanie Rodrigues
Nationality: Australian
Age: 19
Program: Bali
Project: Teaching
Date: November 2013 - 2 weeks

Orientation was fantastic! I crossed off all the touristy things I wanted to do in my time in Bali at an incredible price. I also learnt so much more about Balinese culture than expected. The accommodation was much neater than expected! I was prepared to rough it a bit but there was no need. Teaching English in the schools was so enjoyable! The kids were my favourite. I have grown to be more appreciative of what I have, but also inspired to go on more IVHQ programs. I am already registered for Vietnam!

Jensyn Newbold
Nationality: United States
Age: 20
Program: Ghana
Project: Orphanage Work
Date: June 2014 - 6 weeks

Wow. My trip changed my life for the absolute better. I had such an amazing time seeing and being part of a different culture. The volunteer house was great and the children were phenomenal. I had the time of my life. Overall wonderful experience!!

Remy Channon
Nationality: Australian
Age: 23
Program: Vietnam - Ho Chi Minh
Project: Teaching English
Date: June 2014 - 2 Weeks

To everyone involved in the program I would like to thank you all! My stay in HCMC has been an experience I will never forget. Every moment has been filled up with new & exciting cultural experience that have made my stay special. All the coordinators have made my time very easy & Enjoyable. It had been a great introduction to Vietnam & I am very excited to see some more of this beautiful country.

Alexandra McGain
Nationality: Australian
Age: 22
Program: Vietnam - Ho Chi Minh
Project: Teaching English
Date: June 2014 - 2 Weeks

Thank you so much, for allowing me to come to your beautiful country! I have enjoyed every minutes of my stay. The food has been absolutely beautiful, fresh and full of exotic flavours. I thoroughly enjoyed being out of District one and out of the "tourist hub" because I feel that I was able to experience the true Vietnam. The people are so friendly and always willing to help you as much as they can! I would like to thank everyone involved. The support that we have been provided has been outstanding! Thank you, Vietnam! I have thoroughly enjoyed my stay and can not wait to return!

Alesha Palmer
Nationality: American
Age: 30
Program: Vietnam - Ho Chi Minh
Project: Caring for disabled Children/Orphanage Work
Date: June 2014 - 2 Weeks

This was my first trip out of the U.S. and I am so glad I chose Vietnam! I have loved bing here and learning about your culture. Everyone has been so friendly! The kids at the orphanage were a joy to be around. Thank you so much for all that you do!

Amber Cave
Nationality: British
Age: 20
Program: Bali
Project: Turtle Conservation
Date: June 2013 - 3 Weeks

I have recently returned from my Turtle Conservation project in Bali and would like to let you know how much I and all of the people that I met enjoyed the project. The first week in Ubud was wonderful, I absolutely loved seeing all the different sights that our coordinator showed us. The project in Nusa Penida was brilliant. All of the coordinators went above and aboard to make the volunteers welcome and sort out any problems they had. They made the house feel like a home and nobody was left out. The actual Turtle Conservation site whilst still only in its very early stages was doing very well. The local staff used us volunteers to help the site progress. They were productive and implemented many systems to better the survival rates of all of the turtles. This was great as it meant us volunteers had plenty of hands on jobs. The coordinators also listened to our ideas, therefore making us feel as though we really could contribute. The house staff were lovely. Another part of the project that would be the same without. They helped you out and looked after us. And the food was always delicious! I enjoyed my time on Nusa Penida so much I am already planning my return. Thank you again for a wonderful experience that I will always remember.

Russell Livingston
Nationality: American
Age: 68
Program: Costa Rica
Project: Turtle Conservation
Date: April 2013 - 3 weeks

I have a number of favourite moments - seeing my first turtle, the kayak trip up the river estuary, having a large multi-colored crab crawl up the back of my shirt.

The fact that I was 53 years older than the next oldest volunteer was never a factor or a problem. 

Volunteering in Costa Rica was a wonderful experience.


Alexandra Ruiz
Nationality: United States
Age: 22
Program: Costa Rica
Project: Childcare Work
Date: July 2014 - 2 weeks

Working with children in Costa Rica was one of the best decisions I have ever taken. The country, the people, it is all so beautiful. The children are wonderful and so eager to meet new volunteers. My host family was so nice and welcoming; I truly can say that they will always have a place in my heart. I arrived as a volunteer and left as family. The people at Maximo Nivel were so helpful and friendly. Costa Rica was an amazing experience and if I could I would do it all over again.

Jennifer Anderson
Nationality: United States
Age: 23
Program: Costa Rica
Project: Healthcare
Date: August 2014 - 2 weeks

My favourite part of my volunteering experience was forming relationships with the deaf children at my first placement! Overall it was an amazing experience and great affordability! I would highly recommend IVHQ to family/friends! :)


Jeanine McGovern
Nationality: American
Age: 24
Program: Costa Rica
Project: Turtle Conservation
Date: June 2014 - 3 weeks

My first day at my placement was one of my favourite, within a few hours of arriving we released baby sea turtles into the sea.  As we were finishing releasing them the sun began to set and it was the most beautiful sunset I have ever seen.  Later that night on patrol the sky was extremely clear, the stars looked like a picture on a postcard, and we saw shooting stars.

Overall my time in Costa Rica was the best thing that I have ever done. I cannot thank IVHQ enough for helping me get to Costa Rica and I cannot wait to start planning my next volunteer trip.

Pages